Summer in a Bowl

September 1, 2016 by  
Filed under About the books

Summer in a Bowl

“Summer in a Bowl” is a wonderful introduction to the joys of gardening and cooking with children.

Rosa spends every Thursday helping Aunt Mary tend her garden. On this last Thursday of the season, they harvest the vegetables and cook them.

Rosa finds that vegetables can be delicious and discovers a new way to preserve all of her summer fun.

Publication is planned for September 30, 2016. Summer in a Bowl is intended for ages 3 through 9.

Kobi Borrows a Pouch

September 1, 2016 by  
Filed under About the books

Kobi Borrows a PouchKobi was a young koala who thought he knew all the bush-smarts he needed. Very soon, he discovered that looking for the right gum tree was a dangerous business. He ended up scared and homeless—and he really, really, missed his mom. Kobi needed to learn more bush-smarts, and FAST if he were to stay alive. . . Jumping Grasshoppers, how will poor Kobi manage? Read, and discover his survival secrets.

The Adventures of the Parsley Family and the Dancing Snails

August 1, 2016 by  
Filed under About the books

Take yourself on an adventure and follow the story of Trixie, a 9 year old girl, who befriends a group of snails in her garden and becomes their Snail Guardian!

She takes her snails on adventures they never thought possible.

They learn how to dance, have picnics and mix with other groups from all over the world.

But with all these new and exciting adventures, will they manage to stay out of trouble?

Adventures of the Parsley Family

About the Book
Title: The Adventures of the Parsley Family and the Dancing Snails
Author: Michael Read
Paperback: 140 pages
Publisher: novum pro (29 Oct. 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 3990481126
ISBN-13: 978-3990481127
Available at amazon.com

Fearne Fairy and the Chocolate Caterpillar

July 2, 2016 by  
Filed under About the books

fearne fairy and the chocolate caterpillar

About the Book
Fearne Fairy And The Chocolate Caterpillar is the 9th enchanting instalment from Sarah Hill’s award-winning Whimsy Wood Series for 5-8 year olds.

In this wonderfully whimsical and heart-warming story, the month of April has arrived in Whimsy Wood and Fearne Fairy’s about to make a new friend!

Not only that, but this new charming character gets himself in a sticky situation and luckily, Fearne comes to his rescue.

I couldn’t possibly tell you who Fearne’s new friend is, or how she rescues him.

You’ll just have to read ‘Fearne Fairy And The Chocolate Caterpillar’ for yourself!

Title: Fearne Fairy and the Chocolate Caterpillar
Author: Sarah Hill
Illustrator: Sarah Mauchline
Publisher: Abela Publishing (July 2, 2016)
ISBN-10: 1910882739
ISBN-13: 978-1910882733
Available at amazon.com.

Books by Penelope Anne Cole

June 16, 2016 by  
Filed under About the books

Magical Max and Magical Mickey’s Big Surprise Like their magical older brother and sister, Matt and Mea, nine year old twins Max and Mickey knew they’d soon lose their magic. But they are determined to build an amazing graduation gift before their magic runs out. Will they make it in time and what is their Big Surprise?

Magical Max and Magical Mickey's Big Surprise

Magical Max and Magical Mickey

Matt is going off to college and Mea is entering middle school. At their family emergency meeting, Matt and Mea are surprised to learn Mom is having twin baby boys. Matt, Mea, and Grandma Nonie watch and wonder if twins Max and Mickey will be magical, too? For readers: Ages 5 -8

penelopemaxmickey

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Magical Mea (The Magical Series) (Volume 2)Matthew’s little sister Mea is a trickster. Mea got her magic when Matthew lost his. Matthew tries to guide Mea to use her magic for good. But the more Matthew tries to mentor Mea, the more she wants to “do it her way.” Matthew worries Mea might get into trouble.

penelopemea

The Balance

April 1, 2016 by  
Filed under About the books

THE BALANCEbalanceFront-Cover-195x300 is a Young Adult novel, set in a dystopian future.

It takes place almost 200 years after a global thermonuclear war.

People in the Land survived the destruction of the world war only to have their lives disrupted again by a wayward asteroid.

It broke up and rained down on the planet, just as life had begun to regain a sense of normalcy.

This second tragedy disturbed the power sharing arrangement between the two leading factions that had helped rebuild the Land–the Council, and the Order–under an agreement called “The Balance.”

The Council’s leaders exploited the chaos that followed and drove the Order and its members into exile.

Afterward, the Council banned the use of most modern technology, which their leaders blamed for the war.

Seventeen year old Phoebe was the last product of the Order’s genetic engineering programs, and she lives under the Council’s rule.

Phoebe doesn’t understand why she’s so different from everyone else, and she struggles to survive while hiding her strangeness.

Members of the exiled Order have come to realize her condition and their leader, a Prescient, sees a potential in her that might allow them to regain their place in society, and to re-establish The Balance.

The Time Seekers

December 1, 2015 by  
Filed under About the books

About The Time Seekers

The Time SeekersAlexandra St. Germaine is dreading going back to school.
The Pine School is not a typical school and her sixth-year teacher, Miss Blueberry, is not typical either. And things get off to a rather disastrous start, leading to some shocking changes in Classroom #6.

At home, the elegant Chadwick Manor, Alexandra’s constant companion is a blue and gold macaw parrot named Taco. He is a kind-hearted and intelligent bird, with an impressive vocabulary and very definite opinions. All is well until one dark and stormy night, when Taco and Alexandra find their world quite upended. Two wet and windswept figures are standing in the Chadwick foyer–with their pets–and the winds of change begin to blow.

Mystery and magic sweep into Dark Harbor, along with the chilly fall weather . . . a teacher whose face is hauntingly familiar, the bewitching night of All Hallows’ Eve, time travel to a Salem Witch Trial, strange Miss Ima from the Book Nook, and a magical key which unlocks a tragic past.

The Time Seekers is a children’s novel for elementary (grade four and above) through middle school age children. In the tradition of Stuart Little, Charlotte’s Web, and The Wind in the Willows, The Time Seekers takes flight with two anthropomorphized birds: a macaw parrot and a common raven (who only speaks French), yet remains grounded in authentic human emotions and experiences . . . friendship, love, redemption and forgiveness, and never giving up.

With more than 500 pages (64 chapters, Prologue and Epilogue), some French language, The Time Seekers’ Map, and over 30 pen and ink illustrations, as The Time Seekers is opened, so, too, is a portal to a classic adventure story. An alchemy of magic and human emotion, woven into a tapestry of New England locales (Maine and Cape Cod), The Time Seekers truly belongs on the family bookshelf to be enjoyed by readers of all ages.

“You have no idea where childhood ends and maturity begins . . . it is all endless and all one.”

P. L. Travers
Author of the Mary Poppins books

A Caterpillar, a Bee, and a VERY Big Tree

December 1, 2015 by  
Filed under About the books

caterpillarA Caterpillar, a Bee and a VERY Big Tree is the story of a little green caterpillar named Gus. While out on a stroll, Gus meets Shoo Bee, a bee who suffers from pollen allergies! Gus and Shoo Bee become fast friends, and when a storm threatens to send all the other caterpillars tumbling from the great tree, they team up to save the day. With help from wise Councilor Cricket, an Army of Ants and several fire flies – the friends are able to not only work together, but also teach a great lesson on what it means to be different and the way that we are all unique.

When they got the idea for Gus, they decided that this was their chance to teach share with readers how to:
• Develop courage to overcome obstacles;
• See the value in true friendship;
• Understand that everyone is different and differently abled;
• Value teamwork;
• Be aware of the value of communication;
• and Cherish diversity.

A Caterpillar, a Bee, and a VERY Big Tree is available at amazon.com.

A Pirate’s Mother Goose by Nancy I Sanders

September 11, 2015 by  
Filed under About the books

pirates-mother-gooseThis selection of popular Mother Goose rhymes is given a delightful pirate makeover! What happens when the cat gives a mate his fiddle? The cabin boy dances a jig and the scalawags waltz in the brig! And Pretty Polly Pirate flies through the town squawking through the locks “are the children safe in bed? There be pirates at the docks!” From Rock-a-By, Pirate to Rub-a-Dub-Dub (three swabs in a tub), this collection is sure to inspire the poetic pirate in everyone!

Help Your Child to Thrive

May 2, 2015 by  
Filed under About the books

Help Your Child to ThriveThe National Writing for Children Center is pleased to showcase this new book by Liane Brouillette – Help Your Child to Thrive.

About the Book
Contemporary public schools focus intensely on academic success. Social-emotional development is given only incidental attention. Families must be prepared to take up the slack. Otherwise students’ emotional growth may be impeded, resulting in diminished social skills, motivation, and ability to cope with stress. This book describes how public schools have changed and provides strategies for helping your child to thrive.

Next Page »

css.php